Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

growth spurt at 4 months...

Discussion in 'Getting Started in Conformation' started by blaiseshimmer, Mar 28, 2016.

1. blaiseshimmer

blaiseshimmer Forums Regular

Apr 16, 2015
    south TX
    ...or, Another Way To Make Blaiseshimmer Panic...

Hi everyone, resident newbie here. I need to try to get some decent pictures of my puppy Kelby (since most of the ones I have consist of him covered in leaves/dirt/unknown smelly stuff). His ear training is still a nightmare since he and his minion, Tal, are becoming very efficient in removing the glue/tape/braces from his ears at least twice a week (<another topic for another thread)

But I tried to measure him this weekend. My DH, bless him, is still pretty helpless when it comes time to do anything to this puppy, and Kel knows it; will start whimpering and wailing and poof! DH lets him go. BUT...I try to measure him, and after several tries, I *think* I got a height measurement (still need to try again since DH also wasn't that firm in holding the pup steady). According to pretty much every chart I can find, he's borderline OS. I will admit that the only time I DID measure him was at 9 weeks where he was just a hair over 9". I know that he still has a bit of growing to do, but wonder just how much?

At 18 weeks, I got a measurement of 13.25" and I am not sure if I should worry or not, since we are still in the beginning, rose-colored-glasses stages of taking him to conformation shows. To his credit, this puppy has had some weird growth spurts the past few weeks, some days looking like his head shrunk into his neck, his body seemed stretched out the next day, and right now he's full into his Ugly Coyote stage (longish legs).