Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

New Dog Advice?

Discussion in 'General Dog Chat' started by Fasb's Owner, Dec 22, 2015.

1. Fasb's Owner

Fasb's Owner Forums Enthusiast

Jan 21, 2013
    Morgantown, WV
    We're still mourning Fasb, but the family agrees we're dog people and will be ready for a new dog (or dogs) fairly soon. Wife and I have no experience as pet owners. Fasb was our first dog, and he just sort of fell into our lap. We weren't really around pets as kids. Basically, we have no experience picking out a breed we think we'd like.

We don't want a sheltie, but we want a dog similar to a shelite. That is, Fasb is irreplaceable. We don't feel like we want a dog that looks like Fasb. On the other hand, Fasb had most of the traits we want in a dog. Fasb was almost always very good-natured, was extremely friendly, followed us around the house most of the time, was very affectionate, etc. He was also very vocal and very hyper. We're looking for dogs with similar disposition, breeds that will be good companion dogs.

We're also looking for an indoor dog about the same size as a sheltie. As a practical matter, shelties are a good size for indoor dogs. Too much larger and you're starting to get into outdoor breeds. I have no interest in owning an "outdoor" dog. Wife and I don't like the little tiny fu-fu looking dogs, so any toy/tiny breed is out. We're probably interested in an breed that goes between 15 and 40 pounds appox.