Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

Do you feed your babies raw eggs?

Discussion in 'BARF, Raw & Natural Diets' started by Lahree, Apr 6, 2013.

1. Lahree

Lahree Forums Enthusiast

Dec 15, 2008
    North Texas
    I have read such conflicting information on the internet I am ready to tear my hair out. Is it ok to feed your dogs raw eggs periodically? I have made Ellie scrambled eggs before but have never given her a raw egg.

2. mellie

mellie Forums Enthusiast

May 18, 2011
    East Coast
    I have been giving dogs (and cats) raw eggs for at least 40 years with absolutely no problems. I give egg shells too, but Sally isn't wild about them unless they are crushed pretty fine. I will also feed cooked eggs as well, a slice of gluten free toast on the side...:wink2:

3. biowicks

biowicks Forums Enthusiast

Mar 7, 2012
    Michigan
    I see no problem with giving raw eggs, except for the reality that occasionally there will be salmonella in them. Having had that happen to me once, blowing out eggs for an Easter egg tree, I wouldn't have thought of it. And I washed the eggs before I did it, too. Rather than take the risk (small but present) I always give scrambled eggs. You can now buy pasturized raw eggs (in a milk carton, not whole in the shell) in most groceries. Those would be safe :smile2:

4. Margi

Margi Premium Member

Nov 2, 2012
    Corona, AZ
    Fed my guys yogurt and egg for breakfast at least once a week for 11 years, they loved it!

5. Caro

Caro Moderator

Jan 14, 2009