Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

Eye color in breeding

Discussion in 'The Sheltie Standard' started by sunni9, Aug 9, 2011.

1. sunni9

sunni9 Forums Novice

I am new to Shelties and I am going to get a Blue Merle male and a Tricolor female puppy. Now I have read how only brown eyes are allowed on all colors of Shelties but blue eyes are only allowed on Blue Merles in showing. I want to breed my puppies when they get older and I want to show them...so would it be bad if I got a blue eyed Blue Merle to pair with the brown eyed Tricolor female. I'm not sure how many of the babies from that pair might end up being blue eyed Tricolors and I know that would not be good for showing. Or does the only eye color that really matters is what color the female has? Anyone know about how eye color is in being passed down in breeding? Thanks for any help.

2. tofu pup

tofu pup Moderator

Aug 28, 2009
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hi and welcome to the Forum!

I'm going to hold off on your question for the moment, because I want to talk about something even more important...

I think you need to seriously consider how and why you're going about starting your breeding program.

Why?

Because the questions that you're asking tell me that you're just getting started with Shelties and with showing dogs. They also tell me that you don't yet have a mentor who can guide you and answer your questions about the Sheltie Standard and about genetics. Think about it... here you are, starting off with your breeding program, laying the foundations for a family of Shelties, and the only place you have to turn to with important questions is an online forum. Don't get me wrong, Sheltie Forums is a great place - but these are questions that you want to be absolutely sure about.