Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

Health Issues Associated With Color Headed Whites?

Discussion in 'General Health' started by HopeShelties, Apr 17, 2009.

1. HopeShelties

HopeShelties Forums Enthusiast

Dec 2, 2008
    Kentucky
    Alright, someone here has got to have the answer to this. Are there health issues, similar to those that are sometimes found in double merles, also present in color headed whites?
    The reason I ask is that another breeder and I were debating over this, and I would truly like to know the answer. Please, someone with more knowledge of genetics, reply!

Last edited: Apr 17, 2009
  2. Elenbah

Elenbah Forums Regular

Stacey, I'm no expert in this, but aren't colour headed whites the result of doubling up of the white factor gene?...
    In Australia the colour headed white is not a recognized colour but they do occur. Here we call them miss marks and are sold as pets. I have whelped a few myself as my line is heavily white factored and the gene can be carried even by a dog that physically shows no outward sign of the white going all the way up the stifles to the belly hair. As far as I know, (and my mentors know) there are NO health issues associated with White Factoring. It is not a mutation of any genes or anything like that and it can present itself in sables, tri's or blue merle's. The white factored gene is actually needed to produce glamour and if it were not there our shelties would all be very plain indeed.

3. GeeRome

GeeRome Forums Enthusiast

Aug 12, 2008
    Canada