Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

In Heat at 5.5 months?

Discussion in 'General Health' started by Sunflower77, Mar 18, 2019.

1. Sunflower77

Sunflower77 Forums Regular

Feb 6, 2019
    My Sparkle is 5.5 months old. Today I noticed some change on her vulva. It used to be pink. Now it’s brown. The discoloration is caused by some brown discharge. It’s not swollen as some of the images I saw online. The size is the same as before.

I’m not sure whether this is her first period. She’s only 5.5 months old. I heard most Sheltie start their first heat after six months or later. Also the discharge is brown, not red or blood color. She’s my first female pet. So I’m not experienced at this.

Does this sound like the start of her first heat? If so, how long will the period last? Shall I buy some sanitary pad for her? Thanks a lot.

2. Ann

Ann Moderator

Feb 25, 2008
    Western Connecticut
    The general rule is for seasons to start around 6 months, but your girl could be starting early, or she could have a mini or partial heat now since it's early. I would definitely invest in some seasonal panties and pads to have on hand for when she goes in. Generally, the first sign you'll notice is some drips of blood (usually fairly red) on the floor after she pees. The color turns from red to almost pink and then brown and runs about 3 weeks long. Baby wipes are also great for this time!

Sunflower77 likes this.
  3. Sunflower77

Feb 6, 2019
    Thank you. Her discharge is not red at all. Now I’m thinking it might not be her period. I have an appointment with a new vet on Wednesday for spay consultation. I’ll ask him about it.

Ann likes this.
  4. corbinam

corbinam Moderator

Oct 14, 2008
    Ohio