Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

Insurance?

Discussion in 'General Health' started by mimiretz, May 6, 2018.

1. mimiretz

mimiretz Forums Enthusiast

Oct 14, 2014
    denver
    We're looking into getting pet insurance for both Oberon (4 years in Sept) and Casanova-the-cat (5 years in July). Oberon is in good health. Casanva is in good health now, but did have a serious UTI. We've been told that after having one UTI, male cats are more suasceptible to having more and that subsequent ones can be even more severe, sometimes requiring surgery.

Any recommendations for good pet insurance? While price isn't the only factor (obviously), it is a consideration.

2. RikyR

RikyR Premium Member

Nov 27, 2013
    Baton Rouge LA
    I have been using Embrace for many years. I use it for catastrophic events, so I selected a higher deductible and the highest coverage (90%). They also have a vanishing deductible that goes down every year that you do not make a claim. I have not used it so far with Zulu, but when Cody had kidney disease, they were very easy to work with, never gave me any hassles, and paid promptly. After he passed, I had 4 months left on the policy. I contacted them to cancel, and they sent me a refund check for the entire policy amount. Sure was not expecting that! Highly recommended!

3. Cara Sandler

Cara Sandler Forums Enthusiast

Jul 11, 2015
    Florida