Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

New Forum Member

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by Rhea, Nov 27, 2021.

1. Rhea

Rhea Forums Novice

Nov 18, 2021
    Hello all! I'm a new member here and I can't wait to get to know all of you (and your dogs)!
    My name is Rhea, I'm a university student in western Canada, and I'm in the beginning stages of thinking about my first dog. I'm still several years out from being ready for a dog, but Shelties have made my possible breed list so I'm here to learn everything I can about them so I can make the best choices for myself and my future dog! (Miniature poodles are on the shortlist as well, but our friends over at PoodleForum are taking the reins on that front!)
    The main things that made me consider Shelties are their biddability, sensitivity, and intelligence! I've heard they're known to be vocal, which doesn't bother me as my current senior cat is very chatty. Their size seems ideal for me as well, since it's likely I'll be living in an apartment when I get my first dog. I'm prepared to offer a whole bunch of supervised outdoor time, training, and mental stimulation, so their high energy won't be a concern. My main reservation is that I've never owned a dog before, so grooming will have a learning curve, but since I'm starting WELL in advance, I have loads of time to brush up (haha) on my skills.
    It's still early days, so I'm honestly still getting a feel for the breed, and I'm excited to learn! I'll see you all around!

Darren, danisgoat, Hanne and 7 others like this.
  2. Sharon7

Sharon7 Moderator

Oct 31, 2009