Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

one person dog?

Discussion in 'Behavior' started by Rileys mom, Nov 3, 2013.

1. Rileys mom

Rileys mom Forums Enthusiast

May 6, 2013
    MN
    I graduated from college 1 1/2 years ago. Last fall I decided to get a puppy, and after much searching I got Riley last April. I am currently living at home.

As Riley is my dog I do everything with him. When I am home Riley will rarely respond (come, sit, etc) to anyone else and will instead run to me and hide behind or between my legs. When I am not home he is good for my mom, okay about 50% of the time for my sister and wont't listen to dad. Although Riley seems to be excited to see dad in the mornings and runs and jumps on him. Riley has never physically been punished and rarely yelled at. If he gets in trouble I use a stern voice and put him in his time out spot.

Am I doing something wrong that Riley isn't more friendly/responsive with my dad and sister? Or is it their fault for not making more of an effort to be with him? I do take him places as often as I can to socialize him. Or could he just be more of a 1 person dog?

2. JLSOhio51

JLSOhio51 Forums Enthusiast

Mar 16, 2013
    Ohio
    Rileys Mom:

If you don't mind input from someone who openly admits to not knowing anything about proper dog training techniques, I have some impressions to offer. Mind you, I have had only one Sheltie, and sadly, he passed on many years ago. All that said, I don't believe that your pup's actions signal that you necessarily did anything wrong, perhaps only that there are more things that each of you could do to get the results that you desire.