Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

The groomer shaved Skylar's belly :-(

Discussion in 'Grooming' started by Cara Sandler, Mar 3, 2018.

1. Cara Sandler

Cara Sandler Forums Enthusiast

Jul 11, 2015
    Florida
    So I just picked my girls up from the groomer - that I have been using for over 2 years now - and found that they SHAVED Skylar's belly!!!!!!! I am furious beyond words. The only reason I can think that they did this is that her belly had obviously been shaved just a few months prior when she had her stomach surgery - so maybe they thought they were supposed to shave it? I am so angry! Is her hair going to grow back ok? I guess I should be thankful it's only on her belly, where it can't be seen, but I am so upset.

2. mimiretz

mimiretz Forums Enthusiast

Oct 14, 2014
    denver
    I totally understand! About 9 months ago someone cut Oberon's pants off!!!!! This was a groomer that not only had been grooming him for a year or so but had groomed our previous Samoyed (also a double-coated, do not shave or cut) several times. Oberon's pants did grow back, and in about 3-4 months.

Cara Sandler likes this.
  3. ghggp

ghggp Moderator

Aug 28, 2011
    Grosse Pointe, Michigan
    Cara, that she s terrible that they shaved Skylar's belly!
    Never, ever should a groomer shave any dog without getting permission from the owner!
    I had to shave Logan's belly when he had is staph infection. The hair grew back perfectly.

Cara Sandler likes this.
  4. Cara Sandler

Jul 11, 2015
    Florida
    Oh no, I would have been beyond furious if that had happened! Thankfully this is just her belly. And she doesn't seem to mind.

Hopefully hers will come back in just 3-4 months! It was already pretty long before her stomach surgery!

5. Cara Sandler

Jul 11, 2015
    Florida
    That's a huge relief to hear!!!!!!