Dismiss Notice
Hello Guest, Welcome to the new version of Sheltieforums.com. If you have any questions regarding the new software, please post in the following section: Forum Upgrade

Training Success!

Discussion in 'Sheltie Chat' started by Elei, Jul 8, 2020.

1. Elei

Elei Premium Member

Jul 10, 2019
    Hi guys, this is Kip!
    I’ve been training my mom for about 10 months now, and for the most part she’s pretty trainable. She gives me lots of cookies and toys and lets me follow her everywhere. But the one thing she was really stubborn about was “No Sheltie on the bed”.

Mom said, “The bed is 4 feet off the ground. You’ll fall off and get hurt.” Silly reason. She said, “You’ll try to jump off and get hurt” Why would I jump off?? But Mom made me sleep in my own bed under her bed. It was ok, but I like to be with her all the time, so I had to come up with a plan to train her.

So about a week ago, instead of sleeping I started pacing around and whining to keep my mom awake. It worked. She was very grumpy and worried about me. One night she even slept on the floor with me which made her even grumpier and wasn’t quite what I wanted.

She finally got the message when I stood on my tip toes and tried to jump into Mom’s bed. She picked me up and put me on the bed. Guess what? I didn’t jump off or fall out of bed. I just snuggled up and slept all night long. Happy Sheltie, happy human. :)

The only problem is I have to share the bed with the cat too, so it’s a bit crowded..

JacqueZ, corbinam, Hanne and 11 others like this.
  2. ghggp

ghggp Moderator

Aug 28, 2011
    Grosse Pointe, Michigan
    Elei, you are one smart pup! Well done. Yes, sheep can be trained too!

Piper's mom, Wendy C, Darren and 2 others like this.
  3. Sandy in CT

Sandy in CT Premium Member

Aug 5, 2018
    CT
    Great job training your sheep Kip!!!

ghggp, Piper's mom, Hanne and 3 others like this.
  4. Elei

Elei Premium Member

Jul 10, 2019
  5. Sharon7

Sharon7 Moderator

Oct 31, 2009